Acne is normal, don’t be ashamed!


Let me tell you that acne is normal and you shouldn’t be ashamed of it. I know it can totally kill your self esteem. Your body is simply growing. Don’t let it lower your self confidence. I’ve had it most of my teenage years but now I can say that I don’t have to deal with it quite as often. I do occasionally break out but nothing like I used too. I’ve seen numerous dermatologists and I’ve tried everything from drug store products to prescribed topical gels, but nothing worked. It was honestly up to my self to figure out how to get rid of it. Now, I’m no doctor but I do know a lot about the skin due to plenty of research I would make on the internet and reading plenty of books. It wasn’t until I went to see my family physician, who is an amazing doctor that prescribed me Clindamycin and benzoyl peroxide topical gel. I can’t even express how much it changed my life, I have never seen my skin look so clear.

Clairsonic Mia 2, topical gel, murad.

Another thing that help me so much was fish oil supplements, everyday I take two. One in the morning and one before bed. They have amazing benifits to your skin, hair and even your cardiovascular health.

Fish oil supplements

Now if you have mild acne drug store products are good enough. If your acne is moderate to severe or even cystic acne then I would recommend seeing a board certified dermatologist. However if you do get a drug store face wash make sure it contains benzoyl peroxide or salicylic acid. If you are someone who is dealing with acne just know it’s okay and it’s totally normal. Trust me it will get better!❤️

Xoxo 

Marissa Mitchell✨🌞

12 Comments Add yours

  1. I had T Zone acne in my youth, it’s amazing how much you learn on the way to flare ups, hormones and how different foods can help. For me I never use water on my face just Witch Hazel, it seems to work for me! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly, I wish I knew what I know now back then. With how to properly wash my face:/ I guess we learn from experience. I should try that I’ve never tried witch hazel. What is that?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I know, right! never realized how much I touched and rubbed my face too, that would cause a problem too! Witch Hazel is a shrub/tree and an astringent like a toner! I get mine from the chemist, no label I just ask for distilled witch hazel, it is so cheap too, in UK it’s £2 .. it is more well known for bumps n bruises, kind of an anti-inflammatory x

        Liked by 1 person

      2. https://draxe.com/witch-hazel/amp/

        There’s a bit more info on Dr Axes blog 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Ahh I just pop to my local pharmacy! I’ll have a look online though for you, see if it is on there!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I went through a few online, there’s many but the best one I saw in the USA (I’m thinking u are there!) is the Homestead Company on Amazon, but def try your pharmacy first I think it will be cheaper! 😀 Let me know how u get on with it!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah I am haha, where are you from? I’ll look when I go over to the pharmacy:)

      Liked by 1 person

  4. 😀 Northampton! In UK it’s about an hour North of London! My other half is American, New Jersey! So been a few times!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. How do you like the UK?! Never been! Seems very nice

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I love it! Lots of history and quaint little villages! Though it has its downs too in areas! When I’m in America I’m wowed by the vastness and choice! We don’t have as much here, that’s how I compare! Im typically English I can’t wait to get back for a good cup of tea! Lol 😆

    Like

Leave a Reply

